Glass Noodles with Crispy Pork and Cashews! YUM WOON SEN!

HIYA!

I am obsessed with noodles. Maybe because they come in so many varieties, shapes, textures…. or perhaps they are just so fun to eat. We have such an amazing Asian market that I always find myself picking up about 5 packages at a time (buckwheat soba, rice vermicelli, Chinese egg noodles, bean thread, tapioca, green tea somen, rice stick…) so that we can eaten NOODLES FOR DAYS!

Anyway this is the first time I tried to make YUM WOON SEN and it was pretty darn good. I used this recipe as a guide: Spicy Glass Noodles with Crispy Pork Original Recipe

Changed it up a little bit by using cashews instead of peanuts, using extra cilantro, adding in yellow bell pepper,  and using coconut palm sugar in lieu of regular.  Feel free to make your own version too!  Please note I made a double batch as well so my amounts for the sauce are doubled vs the original.

I make a few other noodle salads which I share over time: a Singapore style Curry Prawn with Chinese egg noodles instead of vermicelli, a classic Chinese sesame peanut, a spicy black sesame Thai chili chicken with buckwheat soba and lime, a vegan Korean Yam Noodle with spinach, shitake and more, and of course you already know about the Momofuku Ginger Scallion Noodles that I LOVE LOVE LOVE to make with all kinds of variations.

NOODLES!

What Ya Need:

Salad:

  • Ground pork pan-fried in a little olive oil til crispy
  • Large package of mung bean/bean thread/ glass noodles (soaked for 10 mins  and then boiled for 1-2 minutes, drained, rinsed with cool water and set aside)
  • 4 scallions thinly sliced
  • 1 yellow bell pepper thinly sliced
  • Fresh cilantro washed and chopped (I used a lot!)
  • Lots of toasted unsalted cashews, roughly chopped

Sauce:

  • 4 tablespoon soy sauce
  • 4 tablespoons fish sauce
  • 4 tablespoons coconut palm sugar
  • 4 tablespoons lime juice (from 1 lime)
  • 2-4 cloves of garlic minced

Mixed til combined in a bowl and poured over noodles and then mixed around with tongs.

Toppings: (optional)

  • Red Thai Chili and green jalepeno chopped fine (set aside for those that want it spicy)
  • Chili flake oil (to drizzle on top if you want it spicier)
Mung bean noodles soaking!

Mung bean noodles soaking!

Ground pork getting all crispified in its own fattiness. Pork fat is basically the tastiest. It's liquid bacon.

Ground pork getting all crisp-ified in its own fattiness. Pork fat is basically the tastiest. It’s liquid bacon.

Cause I cook for little ones sometimes Mommy has to keep the spicy bits to the side.

Cause I cook for little ones sometimes Mommy has to keep the spicy bits to the side.

Sauce!

Sauce!

Bits and pieces.

Bits and pieces.

A casual little Thai noodles salad just saying eat more of me. It's pretty tasty.

A casual little Thai noodle salad just saying eat more of me. It’s pretty darn tasty.

Leave a comment